A Nightmare on Elm Street

May 24, 10 – We decide to check the latest “A Nightmare on Elm Street” because we couldn’t get tickets for the Prince of Persia. Immediately, it brought out memories for me. Just couldn’t imagine that I watched the original back in 1986.

That was an incredible 24 years ago (shows how ancient I am). I recalled visiting Andrew Kulasingham.  His brother Alan announced that he had a VHS of a “scary” movie. I enthusiastically told him to put it on as I did not have a VHS at home. And there, I was with the whole Kulasingham clan watching A Nightmare on Elm Street’s first instalment. All three brothers were there, including the eldest Lionel. Even Sherine and her boy friend, Anthony Jones were watching together. Did not had any expectation but all of us were glued to our seats in the living room. Freddy Krueger had all of us, spell bounded. In the end, we all had a “WOW” feeling. Definitely, we had chanced upon a rare master piece. Come to think of it, it was truly such a master piece that they are making a remake of it, a quarter century later.

Coming back to 2010, the latest instalment is a reasonable good remake. But since I had watched the original, my expectations were much higher this time around. A couple of young ladies sitting beside me, were absolutely captivated. They could not have been born when the first Nightmare was released. One of them was covering her eyes with her hands for almost the whole show.  I guess anyone who had not watched the original would judge the movie more positively but I had a comparison, I found the villain to be a poor copy of the original played by Robert Englund. As for the hero role, the original was played by Johnny Depp. Johnny Depp was an unknown when he casted but he is definitely in my A-List for best actors. The story line is almost the same but somehow for me, nostalgia wins over the modern remake.

Mr rating for the new Nightmare would be 3 1/2 stars out of 5. For the original, I would have rated it 4 1/2. For all those who had not watched the original, then I believe this movie will go well for you.

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Nightmare on Elm Street

  1. gina says:

    I agree! Totally! I remember the first nightmare on elm street too! The new remake is rather.. lame, I find. Some more the part where he tried to wake the girl up and ended sticking a needle into her heart ala pulp fiction style. It was almost predictable when he stole the adrenalin from the hospital. Could see it he would use it some part in the movie, and I was right!

  2. asme says:

    But Gina for the kids who hasn’t seen the original, I guess this one rocks.

Leave a Reply

