I Drove Around The World

Jan 2, 2009 – First work day for the year and  I was driving back to work when it dawned upon me that I have actually been driving up and down the KL-Karak highway or the E8 for the past 10 years 10 months. When I did the math, I was even more amazed that an average of 250 km weekly return journey would work out to be a total of 140,750 km. 

around-the-world

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is 3 1/2 times round the earth’s circumference of 40,000 km.  This is purely the weekly return journey distance from my home in Bukit Jalil to my office in Mentakab, Pahang. I have not factored in my daily commute, my mid week trips and my outstation journeys. Then it struck me that at RM 0.20 per km for petrol consumption, I would have spent a minimum of RM 28,150 for my weekly travel. 

The time for each journey would be about 1 1/2 hours in the morning and 2 hours return on Saturday afternoons due to the heavier traffic.  The 3 1/2 hours spent weekly worked out to be 1,970.5 hours or a total of 82 days on the road.

I have been questioned before why I travel like I do, week in week out.  Well meaning colleagues has suggested for me to move in permanently to Mentakab instead of wasting my productive time and splashing money on petrol. My superiors even doubted my loyalty as it was viewed that I was not willing to commit myself permanently in Mentakab.

Well, the answer is simple. The money and time spent is well worth keeping in touch with the world, keeping up with times, having  a grip on reality. Mentakab is a very sheltered place living in its own time and oblivious to the outside world. The sacrifice  I made is worth keep my feet in both worlds, the little town of Mentakab and the greater world out there. Even though I was amazed how much I have driven over the years, I have no regrets and will continue to do it if I have to.

If my superiors ever question my loyalty, with this new insight, I will just tell them that I have driven round the world three and half times for them.🙂

This entry was posted in Life, Me, I & Myself and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Drove Around The World

  1. Pink Jeans says:

    A man who has drive….drive on!

  2. shorthorse says:

    I am moved to laughter when I think about your bosses response if they were to ever read this blog …. On the contrary I think it’d result in them starting to calculate the dollars and cents put in to finance the vehicle you drove 3 1/2 times around the world… Now you wouldn’t want this to backfire on you my dear!!!!!!!! Start bribing everyone on keeping your blog address a secret …ahahahahahahah!!!!!!

  3. asme says:

    Yes PJ. We hust have to keep on driving.

    SH – If driving round the world 3 1/2 times is not enough, sorry man! I am going fly.

  4. rslan says:

    You make me thinking…

    I was travelling last 10 year from Kuantan to K.L average 3 times a month which workout to be :

    260km X 2 X 3 times = 1,560km/mth X 12 mth X 10 years = 187,200km or 4.7 times around the world!

    It was big relief after the open of East Coast Highway. So your life is not so bad compare to many who travel from outstation. I know some who travel from Kertih all the way back to K.L on weekly. Many do from Kuantan K.L.

    So enjoy your driving…, Karak highway is nice road to drive anyway.

    • asme says:

      Thanks rslan for your visit and comment.

      I know my driving is not so difficult as I also have a friend living in Seremban but commuting to Klang for work every day, 5 days a week. Also been doing that for past 10 years = 150 km per day x 5 times x 52 weeks = 39,000 km per year x 10 = 390,000 km.🙂

  5. anicodemi says:

    I am a speech-language pathologist that works for a pediatric brain injury program through Children’s Hospital of Michigan in Detroit. I am compiling a work book to educate children with brain injuries and am interested in including an image from your website. I would like to request your written permission to reprint and distribute your images to individuals with brain injury and those in the community who are involved in their care and rehabilitation. Your response to this request is greatly appreciated. The image I am requesting is the one of the car driving around the world to signify the miles of neurons contained within your brain and how long you’d have to drive to travel them all.

Leave a Reply

