Lumbar Degenerative Disc Disease

disc.jpg

Aug 20, 2007 – I made a visit to SJMC after experiencing sharp paralysing pains and was diagnosed by a Dr. Muthurathinam that I have the Lumbar Degenerative Disc Disease. Thought it was a slipped disc but was assured by the good doctor that it was not. However, I was told that there is no cure and it can only get worse with age unless I slow down the process by losing weight and exercises. Apparently, the X-rays showed 4 different (multiple) spots which would make surgery difficult.

Lumbar Degenerative Disc Disease is not a disease but actually is a syndrome in which a compromised disc causes low back pain. It usually starts with a torsional (twisting) injury to the lower back but it is also frequently caused by simple wear and tear on the spine. It is also estimated that at least 30% of people aged 30-50 years old will have some degree of disc space degeneration, although not all will have pain or ever receive a formal diagnosis.

Well, I hope to overcome this and I hope that in a year’s time, I could positively state that I would be much healthier then than now. Make it next 1st September as a deadline.

I am going ahead to climb a volcano in a couple of days’ time. Keeping my fingers crossed.

This entry was posted in Me, I & Myself. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lumbar Degenerative Disc Disease

  1. Short Horse says:

    At least its not a DISEASE as the doc emphasised but “wear and tear”…pretty much like what happens to a ‘beat up truck’… only given our age factor, we’re really not supposed to be that ‘beat up’? Hmmm … this is surely a product of urbanisation …

  2. Ginger says:

    Actually ah.. fat people will suffer from some form of joint pains due to impact of their enormous weight on the joints. My doc said the same thing about me. Unless I lose some weight.. or else, I would have knee pain by 35.

  3. asme says:

    Well, I just discovered that I have heel bursitis to add to my LDD problem. Sigh!

  4. Wendy Paquin says:

    My husband’s website has great information on degenerative disc disease. i have included a link to their DDD center –http://www.spineuniverse.com/displayarticle.php/article4020.html

  5. K Sivadasan says:

    Hello,
    Can you please send me the e-mail address of the Dr Muthurathinam who treated you for your lumbar problem.

    Thanks.

    Sivadasan
    Sermban

  6. asme says:

    Thanks Wendy for the site.

    Sorry Sivadasan, I don’t have his e-mail but you can call up Subang Jaya Medical Centre. They will be able to connect you to him.

Leave a Reply

